Recurring Childhood Nightmare

A lot of my dreams are incredibly random and it’s not very often I have recurring dreams, however, as a child there was one particular one that was more of a nightmare then a dream. It involved being chased down the high street near where I lived by the wolf from the fairy tale, Little Red Riding Hood. The wolf would be wearing Little Red Riding Hoods cape and would run on either all fours, like a wolf, or it’s hind legs, like a human. When it stood on it’s hind legs, it was about 7ft tall and of course, the cape was absurdly small on it as it was a child’s cape. The wolf would be snarling and have a look of insane hunger and anger on it’s face. I would be running as fast as I could to get home, when I got home I would run in screaming trying to tell my mother what was happening but she wouldn’t believe me. As I go to the back door to lock it, I can see the wolf through the window. That’s when wake up.

According to dreammoods.com, being chased signifies avoiding a situation and is a metaphor for some form of insecurity. To be chased by an animal could mean that you’re running away from a primal urge or fear or that you have projected an unacknowledged anger on that animal. Being chased by a wolf implies unwillingness to confront a problem that has a negative impact on your life.

I can’t say what could have influenced that dream, it was so long ago now. Maybe I didn’t like that fairy tale, maybe I had a fear of wolves. What ever it was about, I know that dream terrified me up until my mid teens!

 

Published by

diveinmydreams

Wife, guinea pig herder, writer and musician of sorts ( I write, I practice, I hope)

Leave a Reply

