Wedding Day

A friend of mine, Caroline, is getting married and it’s her wedding day. My other friends, Janine and Helen and myself are her bridesmaids but for some reason, we’re wearing the bridesmaid dresses they all wore for my wedding. It’s also Janine’s birthday and somehow I’ve forgotten about it and I feel absolutely bloody awful. I’ve also managed to forget my tights and Janine has gone to get a pair for me. In the meantime, Helen and I are sat under a tree in what looks like the grounds of the secondary school we all went to. It’s a lovely sunny day and we’re faffing about with our dresses and getting confused as they don’t look quite right and so we try to decide if we should use petticoats under the dresses or not. The whole time we’re doing this, I’m thinking “Why haven’t we sorted this already?!” but I feel as though we have sorted it but it’s just not going right for some reason.

Then it suddenly jumps to it being my wedding day, in the same place and I’m in my wedding dress. I’ve been hiding somewhere and I’m panicking because I’m starting to realise that I can’t marry Dean because I’m in love with Bono. The next thing I know, I’m running down what I think we called the ‘language’ corridor in the school. I’ve hitched up my dress a bit so I run better and I’m going as fast as I can, pushing through guests, none of whom I recognise. I get to one of the ‘year areas’, still having to push through people and I’m in a complete panic thinking that I’ve left it too late. I get to another group of people and see Janine, with a Boots plastic carrier bag (my tights are in it) in her hand. I grab her by the shoulder and pull her round, “Where’s Mark?” I ask and then wonder who Mark is. “He’s in there,” she points to an office, “He’s getting ready.” I still have no idea who Mark is and ask if he’s in his suit yet. I then realise that if I’m marrying Mark, what’s the problem? The problem is, I don’t know Mark, along with the fact that I don’t know Dean and why was I about to marry him. Then, I see Mark through the office window. He’s tall, blonde, muscly and in a tuxedo and has a lovely smile. And I decide that I will marry Mark, even though I don’t know who he is because I quite like the look of him.

I wake up with U2’s ‘Stay’ in my head.

First, I feel the need to say that I never panicked like that on my wedding day, or in the run up to my wedding day. I am very happily married. Secondly, I’ve never wanted to marry Bono from U2. Thirdly, I have no idea who Dean and Mark are. I don’t know a Dean and I’ve never known a Mark that looked like that.

Interpretation using Dreammoods.com –

Secondary school – this refers to the bonds and friendships made whilst there.

Wearing a wedding dress – indicates the evaluation and assessment of a personal relationship.

Being a bridesmaid – this signifies a looming romance, also it could be the expression of the desire to be in a committed relationship.

Friends – seeing friends in a dream signifies aspects of your own personality that you have rejected but are ready to incorporate and acknowledge, or, dreaming of a friend can indicate positive news.

My thoughts?

My brother is getting married in September, and I’d just found out that two former colleagues of mine are also getting married in the same month. Plus, I have another good friend who’s getting hitched this year so I think that explains the wedding theme of the dream. As for wearing my wedding dress and earlier in the dream, a bridesmaid dress, I think that’s to do the fact that I had gone through some photo’s of my wedding day a couple of days before this dream. I can safely say it has nothing to do with a looming romance or the desire to be in a committed relationship. I’m in one. As for my friends, we chat online most days (we don’t live near each other) and the my old school? I spent the whole of my secondary school and sixth form life there, it will pop up from time to time.

Published by

diveinmydreams

Wife, guinea pig herder, writer and musician of sorts ( I write, I practice, I hope)

2 thoughts on “Wedding Day”

  1. How bizarre! I often find myself dreaming about school but not as if I was a student there…it feels like a random playground for my dreams. Like, odd areas just pop up like the Maths area, upper school where Miss C’s new classroom was…strange!

    Also, I always have dreams that me and Rob are in a new house, but it’s got tons of rooms and I’m always looking at how we can decorate them and use them for different things!

    Like

    1. My primary school and my secondary school appear in my dreams quite often. It doesn’t surprise me as we had to spend so much time in school.
      When it comes to houses, it’s usually one of the houses I used to live in, mainly the farm house.

      Like

Leave a Reply

