The Herding of the Guinea Pigs

Guinea pigs feature too often in my dreams. I know it sounds odd, that I dream about guinea pigs, but as stated in my bio, I am a part time guinea pig herder. We have eleven of them so they do need to be herded.

Now, the dreams that feature guinea pigs often involve the fact that they’ve escaped and I’m trying to catch the damn things in a garden or I’m trying to find them.

In one dream, I’m in my parents garden trying to catch at least four of the male pigs but they keep slipping out of my grasp.

Another one involved them escaping whilst being transported. We’d pulled over on the roadside for a break and to stretch our legs and the pigs had decided to do the same. Cue me, trying to catch them.

In another dream, they’d all escaped in a field. The grass is too tall to see them and I’m shouting their names, which is pointless as guinea pigs don’t tend to respond in anyway unless there’s food involved. I catch all of them apart from one so I keep calling it’s name. I see movement in the grass but when I look, it’s not the guinea pig I’m looking for. I pick it up anyway and put it in a pen. Every time I go back to look, I find another one, and another and another until I finally find the pig I’m looking for but it doesn’t look like him. It’s still a guinea pig, but it has the markings and colouring of my cat which is a British Shorthair of sorts that, as my dad likes to say, looks like it’s wearing leg warmers. Needless to say, that looks pretty odd on a guinea pig.

That wasn’t the weirdest one though. The weirdest one by far involving guinea pigs consisted of them being lined up on the landing at the top of the stairs of the house we’re living in. They’re lined up in pairs. They’re going to get married. How do I know this? One of the male pigs is wearing a top hat and the female next to him is wearing a little flowery headband with what looks like a veil attached to it.

Interpretation – we have too many guinea pigs!

Published by

diveinmydreams

Wife, guinea pig herder, writer and musician of sorts ( I write, I practice, I hope)

Leave a Reply

