Short, But Not Sweet

Hot, humid, covered in sweat, head at a funny angle, I wake to discover I’m sprawled out on a jungle floor. Foliage is partly covering me, it feels like I’m trying to hide from something. There’s a rustling nearby and then a face of sorts peers over me, a creepy white face that isn’t fully formed. I don’t move, and try not top breathe. It goes away. Because it thinks I’m dead.

I know I’ve got to get up, get to somewhere safe but I just can’t move. It’s not the complete terror that’s racing through me that’s stopping me. It’s the weird thing sticking out of my right shoulder and a sort of numbness. I try to move my head, but I can’t, it’s stuck at the weird angle with my cheek resting on my shoulder. Managing to move my left arm, I start feeling around my right shoulder trying to figure out what’s wrong. My hand comes away covered in blood, it feels like there’s part of me missing. I start tugging on the thing sticking out of my right shoulder thinking that’s what’s preventing me from moving but I just can’t budge it and I can’t get a decent grip because of all the blood. It’s then that I realise that the thing sticking out of me is what’s left of my arm.

Wake up gasping for breath.

This one left me feeling like I’d had it before, but it’s not one I remember. It also left me with a need to turn the light on.

I can’t explain this one, I’ve not been in a jungle, I only went out in the garden yesterday. The lawn may need mowing but it’s not quite a jungle.

I did however wake with my head at the angle it was in the dream so I can only guess that that might have been what set it off. I was fully expecting my arm to be dead but it wasn’t.

I just hope I have a nicer dream tonight!

Published by

diveinmydreams

Wife, guinea pig herder, writer and musician of sorts ( I write, I practice, I hope)

Leave a Reply

